Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

I’ve finally joined the ranks of the majority of people my age who have seen Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. This 1986 classic, written and directed by John Hughes, follows Ferris (played by Matthew Broderick), a high school senior who pretends to be sick in order to skip school and have fun with his friends. In general I enjoyed the movie. I definitely recognized similarities between Ferris Bueller’s Day Off and some of Hughes’ other movies like The Breakfast ClubMaybe it’s the fact that it took me so long to watch this one, and the fact that I’m not in high school anymore, but I didn’t find that it struck any chord with me the way that it has with other people I know. That being said, it was still very entertaining and put my attempts to feign sickness in high school to absolute shame.

Watching Jeanie nearly have an aneurism several times throughout the day was another highlight.

It also annoyed me when Ferris would talk directly to the camera, but I think that might be partially influenced by some leftover feelings from season one of Sex and the City. Highlights of this movie include realizing that Ferris’ girlfriend is a high school junior and not twenty-seven years old and the school secretary who really doesn’t get enough screen time in my opinion. I recommend this movie to anxious high schoolers. However, unless you plan on destroying a very expensive car or making out with someone in jail, I’m not sure this film will help that much to cope with the stress of realizing you have to be a real person.

My rating: 6.5/10

 

One thought on “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

Leave a comment